Story Of Film, An Odyssey…

Yes indeedy, Story of Film, An Odyssey was screened here in Edinburgh at the Filmhouse this weekend but no, you weren’t invited because it was for friends and colleagues involved in the project- yes, it was just for the special people…and the Bossman, Iain McKinna, was there…no, I wasn’t (sniff sniff)…well to be fair I was away being important elsewhere…

Story of Film is off to Toronto Film Festival and then going out globally in cinema AND the full fifteen hour series is going out on More 4 from Saturday the 3rd of September at 9.15pm, so make sure you catch it because apparently it is STUNNING 🙂

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-story-of-film-an-odyssey

Have I mentioned that The Bossman recorded and produced all of Mark Cousins’ commentary for the series…and he didn’t seem that tall at the time 😉

“Epic…a global vision of cinema” Ian Christie, Sight and Sound

“A brilliant and monumental achievement” Roger Graef OBE, one of Britain’s leading television documentary makers

“Audacious…a treat for movie lovers” Toronto Film Festival

Yes I know you’d like me to interview Mark and frankly I’d LOVE to as well but you know, busy schedules and all that…I mean he’s out there being important and I am too…well ok, not me but look, what would I ask him? You know how my mind works, it hits the Intellectual City Bypass and before I know it I’m off following signs for Random Town and Zany Ville while my mouth is yapping away on rude joke autopilot like a demented terrier in the back of the crazy car…

…and what was I doing that was so important I missed the special screening of Story Of Film? Playing board games…oh yes we did, we really honestly did…while the Bossman was out attending the sceening this weekend, being very cool and sophisticated getting pics taken with the fabulous Mark Cousins… I was embroiled in a tense game of Trivial Pursuits with the three year old sitting on my friends’ dining room table hogging the dice like some kind of overexcited Golem betting at the blackjack table, stroking and kissing the dice and throwing everybody’s turn…I was doing ok too until Match of the Day came on and the fellas did a disappearing act from the table like rats off a sinking ship…

Read more about The Story Of Film on Iain McKinna’s Blog

About jen offbeat

well hey, what to say about me... I'm young enough to believe in wishing on birthday cake candles but old enough to know better... ...remember the song "Hey Mickey"? (f you don't, look it up, it's hilarious, Toni Basil sang it and did a music vid in her cheerleading gear for it) Well when it came out (back in the bad old '80s) I used to dress up in my pink tutu and do the little dance to anybody at home...and no, I don't do that anymore...well ok, only if I've had a few happy drinks and you ask very nicely... Everytime anyone asks me if I've been somewhere before I always say "yeah, when I was about 7" so in my head I did a grand tour of everywhere in that one glorious year and then did absolutely nothing until yesterday... Ok, the embarrassing fact is I get tearful around Santa Claus, I haven't admitted that to anyone before, but I drag my daughter to see Santa in his grotto at Christmas and then I have to pretend I have an allergy to fake snow...

Posted on August 29, 2011, in music production company, music production company gossip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

